DBS Journal Next Story
21.06.18

DBS DESIGNERTALK: AEYDE

Luisa and Constantin, you’ve now known each other for six years. Why and when did you come up with the idea of creating aeyde? 

 

Back when we were both working for a major e-commerce shop, we discovered a gap in the market and teamed up to develop the vision of creating a brand that would perfectly fill this gap by providing excellent designs in top quality at a fair price – that’s how aeyde was born.

aeyde is a very young label. What problems did you have to confront when founding your company and what challenges do you still have to overcome nowadays?

 

Before we founded aeyde in October 2015, we spent nearly a year working on our concept, which involved market analyses, researching competitors and product research. We visited many production facilities in order to find the perfect producer for our product. This definitely helped us to avoid a multitude of problems. Nevertheless, we still, of course, have to master challenges on a day-to-day basis, for example producing higher quantities, establishing a team and considering innovative approaches.

Luisa, one of your areas of responsibility is design. How do you approach the actual creative and creation process?

 

A new collection always starts out with an analysis of the previous season, trend research at trade fairs and exhibitions and taking inspiration from different towns and cities and their distinctive features. We use this as a basis for developing a theme and concept that define the entire season before going on to create new forms, colour palettes and materials and, of course, the initial designs. In the next stage of the process, we create a collection comprised of well-established evergreen styles and new on-trend styles on our very own lasts.

Your shoes are handmade from premium materials such as the finest calfskin, goatskin and suede by family-run producers in Italy.

 

We are a premium-segment brand. To guarantee top quality, we exclusively produce at small family-owned shoe manufactories in Italy. The materials are carefully selected; cut and stitched by hand we even develop our own lasts making each pair a one-of-a-kind masterpiece.

You started out as a brand that was only available online but are now listed alongside brands such as Balenciaga, Gucci or Miu Miu in selected concept stores and, for example, on the newly established platform MarthaLouisa.com. How does that make you feel?

 

It’s really incredible! We’re delighted to have received such a positive response from purchasers and to see our designs and quality presented alongside other luxury brands. When selecting our wholesale partners, we take a very cautious approach and only work in cooperation with partners in the premium/luxury segment. Our new Autumn/Winter collection, which is being launched in July, will be sold by nearly forty wholesale partners all over the world. We have also been able to establish new accounts such as Net-a-Porter.com, Assembly in New York and LA, The Shop at Blue Bird in London, Tomorrowland from Japan, Graanmarkt 13 in Amsterdam and Apropos in Dusseldorf.

You already have nearly 30,000 followers on Instagram. That’s certainly a lot of fans for what is still a young label…

 

We recently passed the 30,000 follower mark, which is just crazy! In fact, the number of people following our account has tripled within the course of a year. Social media, above all Instagram, offer young labels like ourselves huge opportunities and the chance to use relatively few resources to establish a brand image and appeal to potential customers all over the world. We place a great deal of value on our content and the images that we use. We also only collaborate with selected influencers who suit our style and personify a typical aeyde woman. We consider this to be more important than coverage and use this approach to create our very own aeyde community on a lasting basis.

Be it Tina, Anna, Lucy or Fred, each pair of aeyde shoes has its own special name. What are the stories behind these names?

We name our styles after women who actively live out our credo of “making everyday modern”, women who know what they want. In some cases, these are well-known names such as “Leandra” or “Camille”, inspired by major fashion icons whom we love. We also have models that are named after members of our team. Our upcoming Autumn/Winter collection, for example, features boots named after our social media manager “Angelique”.

 

This season, you are participating in the group exhibition of DER BERLINER SALON for the first time. What do you think are the defining factors of the Berlin fashion scene in general and DER BERLINER SALON in particular?

 

We have been showcasing our new collections at trade shows and exhibitions in Paris right from the start and also had a showroom at the Fashion Week in New York last season. As a German label, however, it is also very important for us to present our products in our home city of Berlin. After all, Germany is where we are based and has always been one of our main markets. The world of German design is extremely multifaceted and is open to new and experimental ideas. This makes it special and enables it to offer plenty of scope for creativity. We value this diversity on the local fashion scene. The institution “DER BERLINER SALON” has now secured its role as the most important platform of the Berlin Fashion Week for several years. Twice a year, the initiative curated by Christiane Arp and Marcus Kurz showcases the latest creations by the crème de la crème of German design. We also find the mix of fashion, accessories and designer labels particularly attractive and are excited to be a part of it.

 

Photocredit: landing page (Anna Daki), photos used in the interview (Sascha Heintze)

DBS Journal Next Story
21.06.18

DBS DESIGNERTALK: AEYDE

Luisa, Constantin, Ihr kennt Euch seit mittlerweile sechs Jahren. Wann und warum wurde die Vision geboren aeyde zu gründen?

 

Als wir damals zusammen für einen großen E-Commerce Shop arbeiteten, haben wir eine Marktlücke entdeckt und gemeinsam die Vision entwickelt eine Brand zu schaffen, die genau diese Lücke schließt – tolle Designs, in höchster Qualität, zu einem fairen Preis – so ist aeyde entstanden.

Aeyde ist ein sehr junges Label. Mit welchen Problemen wurdet Ihr bei der Unternehmensgründung konfrontiert und welche Herausforderungen müsst Ihr noch heute überwinden?

 

Bevor wir im Oktober 2015 aeyde gründeten, haben wir ein knappes Jahr an unserem Konzept gearbeitet: Marktanalysen, Recherche zu Mitbewerbern und Produktresearch. Wir haben viele Produktionsstätten besucht, um die perfekte Manufaktur für unser Produkt zu finden. So sind wir sicher vielen Problemen aus dem Weg gegangen. Trotzdem gibt es natürlich täglich neue Herausforderungen zu meistern, wie z.B. höhere Stückzahlen zu produzieren, das Team aufzubauen und über innovative Wege nachzudenken.

Luisa, Du verantwortest unteranderem das Design. Wie gehst Du an den eigentlichen Kreativ- und Schaffungsprozess heran?

 

Eine neue Kollektion beginnt immer mit der Analyse der vergangenen Saison, dem Trendresearch auf Messen und der Inspiration verschiedener Städte und deren Besonderheiten. Daraus erarbeiten wir ein Thema und Konzept, was die ganze Saison bestimmt. Es entstehen neue Formen, Farbpaletten und Materialien und natürlich die erste Entwürfe. Im nächsten Schritt bauen wir eine Kollektion aus bewährten Evergreen Styles und neuen On-Trend Styles auf unseren eigens kreierten Leisten.

Die Schuhe werden in Italien aus Premiummaterialien wie feinstem Kalbs-, Ziegen-, oder Wildleder per Hand in Familienmanufakturen gefertigt.

 

Wir sind im Premiumsegment positioniert. Um höchste Qualität zu gewährleisten, produzieren wir ausschließlich in Italien in kleinen Familienbetrieben, die unsere Schuhe Stück für Stück produzieren. Feinste Materialien werden in sorgfältiger Handarbeit ausgewählt, geschnitten und vernäht und auf unseren eigens entwickelten Leisten fertiggestellt – so wird jedes Paar zu einem kleinen Meisterwerk.

Begonnen habt Ihr als reine Onlinemarke. Mittlerweile werdet Ihr in ausgewählten Concept-Stores und bspw. auf der neugegründeten Plattform MarthaLouisa.com neben Marken wie Balenciaga, Gucci oder Miu Miu gelistet. Was ist das für ein Gefühl?

 

Das ist ein unglaubliches Gefühl! Wir freuen uns über die tolle Resonanz der Einkäufer und darüber, mit unseren Designs und der Qualität mit anderen Luxusmarken in einer Reihe zu stehen. Bei der Selektion unserer Wholesale-Partner gehen wir sehr behutsam vor und arbeiten nur mit Retailpartnern im Premium/Luxussegment zusammen. Mit der neuen Autumn/Winter Saison, die im Juli launcht, sind wir bei knapp vierzig Wholesale-Partner weltweit vertreten, und konnten neue Accounts wie z.B. Net-a-Porter.com, Assembly in New York & LA, The hop at Blue Bird in London, Tomorrowland aus Japan, Graanmarkt 13 in Amsterdam oder Apropos in Düsseldorf gewinnen.

Auf Instagram habt Ihr bereits knapp 30.000 Follower. Recht viel für ein doch noch junges Label… 

 

Die 30.000 Follower Marke haben wir vor kurzem geknackt – der Wahnsinn! Innerhalb eines Jahres verfolgen nun schon dreimal so viele Menschen unseren Account. Social Media und vor allem Instagram bieten jungen Labels wie uns große Chancen und Möglichkeiten mit relativ geringen Mitteln ein Brandimage aufzubauen und potentielle Kundinnen weltweit zu erreichen. Wir legen viel Wert auf unseren Content und unsere Bildsprache. Außerdem kollaborieren wir nur mit ausgewählten Influencern, die zu uns passen und die aeyde-Frau verkörpern, das ist uns wichtiger als Reichweite – so bauen wir nachhaltig unsere eigene aeyde-Community auf.

Tina, Anna, Lucy oder Fred – jedes Paar hört auf einen Namen. Was für eine Geschichte verbirgt sich dahinter?

Wir benennen die Styles nach Frauen die unser Credo „making everyday modern“ leben – die wissen was sie wollen. Das können bekannte Namen wie ‚Leandra’ oder ‚Camille’ sein, in Anlehnung an großen Fashion Icons, die wir lieben. Es gibt aber auch Modelle, die die Namen unsere Teammitglieder tragen. In der kommenden Herbst/Winter Saison z. B. gibt es einen Stiefel, der nach unsere Social Media Managerin ‚Angelique’, benannt ist.

 

In dieser Saison werdet Ihr erstmals Teil der Gruppenausstellung des BERLINER SALON sein. Was zeichnet die Berliner Modeszene im Allgemeinen und den BERLINER SALON im Speziellen für Euch aus?

Wir zeigen unsere neuen Kollektionen von Beginn an auf Messen in Paris und hatten letzte Saison auch einen Showroom zur Fashion Week in New York. Als deutsches Label ist es uns aber auch sehr wichtig in unserer Heimat Berlin zu präsentieren – Deutschland ist unsere Basis und nach wie vor einer unserer Hauptmärkte. Deutsches Design hat viele Facetten und ist offen für Neues und Experimentelles, das macht es besonders und bietet viel Platz für Kreativität. Diese Vielfältigkeit schätzen wir an der hiesigen Modeszene. Die Institution ‚DER BERLINER SALON’ hat sich seit einigen Jahren zur wichtigste Plattform der Berliner Fashion Week etabliert. Kuratiert von Christiane Arp und Marcus Kurz zeigt zweimal im Jahr die Créme de la Créme des deutschen Designs seine neusten Kreationen. Besonders schön finden wir auch den Mix aus Mode-, Accessoires- und Designlabels und freuen uns sehr ein Teil zu sein.

 

Photocredit: Startseite (Anna Daki), Bilder im Beitrag (Sascha Heintze)